Skip to content

Do You Hear the Noise? One Year Later

One year ago, today, I pressed the publish button for the first time. My first post – “Do you hear the noise?” started a regular conversation on this blog about using technology to tap into the ideas, expertise and opinions of the many to build a powerful community at events.

Over the past year, your comments and retweets fueled me to write more than 57 posts. That is about twice as many as I thought that I would write. Thank you for your time, appreciation and dialogue. I appreciate it more than you know.

How attendees look to some people

In some ways, I think that we have come a long way since my first post. In other ways, I think that we are just getting started. There is still so much to do.

Too many event organizers are still stuffing attendees in chairs and forcing them to listen to boring speakers, uninspiring leaders and anyone else that they can find to fill a slot.

We have to work on this together.

Over the next several months, I will be working on some new initiatives that will help bring these discussions to life in new ways. If you would like to participate in one way or another, please let me know. I will appreciate your help.

Here is a brief overview of some of those initiatives.

> Event Camp Twin Cities. Ray Hansen and I are pushing the social, innovation and collaboration envelope with this event. We are throwing out the chairs, putting attendees in charge of an italian racing team, creating an innovation lab and conducting a social media barn raising. It’s ambitious. It will be collaborative, innovative and a blast! (Learn More)

> EIBTM World Wide Technology Watch. This year, I am joining Corbin Ball, Bruce MacMillan, Martin Sirk, Ruud Janssen, Paul Hussey and Lynn Wong on the judging panel.  I hope that we uncover some great new tools this year. (Learn More)

> Going Digital Podcast. Mike McAllen and I are going to record new content for our Meetings Podcast Going Digital series next week at MPI’s World Education Conference next week. If you would like to be interviewed, please let us know.

Bottom Line

Thank you again for your support this past year. I look forward to additional discussions on how we can tap into the ideas, expertise and opinions of the many and continue to build powerful communities with events.

Like This!

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Lindsey Rosenthal (@eventsforgood) #

    Sam,

    Congrats on a fabulous year with great blog posts! I am very inspired by you and all of the work you have accomplished (and will accomplish) soon. You are an important cog in the #eventprofs wheel and I couldn’t imagine it without you. Looking forward to EventCamp Twin Cities and meeting you in person.

    Best,
    Lindsey

    July 16, 2010
    • Thanks Lindsey! I appreciate your comment and support. My fingers are crossed that everything turns out well.

      July 16, 2010
  2. Re: EIBTM…
    ONE woman? Seriously? I’d hoped an event like EIBTM in our female-dominated industry would have moved past the outmoded concept that technology is a man’s place and found more women to participate in the judging.
    Tsk tsk.
    Midori Connolly, AV*Girl*
    @GreenA_V

    July 16, 2010
    • Hi Midori,

      Fair criticism. To be clear, I was not involved in selecting the panel.

      I do know that EIBTM tries hard to put together a panel that has a “global” view of the meetings industry and the technology challenges/solutions that exist. Also, they want representatives that are or will be perceived to be “independent” – i.e. not technology vendors.

      It becomes very hard to identify qualified male or female candidates. Then, convince them to join the panel.

      If you have any suggestions for potential judges (besides yourself), please email me. I will be happy to share that feedback with EIBTM leadership.

      July 16, 2010
  3. Sam, congrats on your blog-aversary! I’ve enjoyed being, and will continue to be, a loyal subscriber and fan.

    I must say though…I’m a little disappointed in your reply to Midori. You should offer to where a dress, shave your legs and put some pumps on. Come on Sam – Man Up!

    July 17, 2010
  4. Hi Dave,

    Thank you for your comments, ideas and support this past year! I appreciate it!

    Regarding the dress idea, hilarious! Even though I would be more Janet Reno than Lady Gaga.

    July 18, 2010
  5. Wow…it’s a whole year?

    I’ve really enjoyed reading your thinking Samuel. It’s not ironic that nearly everything you write is something I can get behind.

    You’re insightful and interesting take on things turn the not so obvious into the ‘ya know, he’s right’.

    Thanks for your ongoing contribution to the events conversation and for providing a place for new thoughts about the role technology can play to solve events issues.

    July 20, 2010
    • Thanks Brian. I have appreciated getting to know you and your company over this past year. I look forward to your future comments and discussion.

      July 27, 2010

Leave a Reply

